Six Kilgore College instructors receive annual NISOD Excellence Award

Apr 01, 2022
Special to the News Herald

Six Kilgore College instructors are recipients of the annual National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Excellence Award.

Instructors honored with the award are Julian Redfearn (business and information technology), Alesha O’Steen (industrial technologies), Ada Ortiz (economics), Kristi Kleinig (health sciences), Lori Truman (liberal arts) and Mary Shaw (math and science).

Redfearn is also KC’s 2022 Minnie Stevens Piper Professor nominee and the recipient of the Hamilton F. and Kathryn G. Beeson Teaching Award.

NISOD’s Excellence Award recognizes faculty, staff and administrators each year who demonstrate an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues.

Recipients of the award will be honored May 28-31 in Austin during NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence.

Each Excellence Award recipient received a specially cast, pewter medallion.

“Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to doing each year,” said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s Executive Director.